Closing date for all 2016 applications: 2 August 2016

The Australian Institute of Geoscientists’ Student Bursary Program was initiated to promote and support geoscience research and education in Australia.  The Bursary Program began in 2001 to mark the 20th Anniversary of the AIG and, since then, the AIG has awarded 173 bursaries to geoscience students in Australian universities. In 2016 the AIG is again offering bursaries to Honours, Postgraduate and Third Year geoscience students.

The 2016 Bursary awards, which have values between A$1000 and A$4000, are funded by the AIG, by the generous sponsorship of individuals and organisations, and by donations from AIG members to the AIG Geoscience Education Foundation.

The AIG Student Bursary Program is open to students who, at the closing date for applications, are:

  • enrolled at Third Year, Honours or Postgraduate level in a geoscience course at an Australian tertiary institution;
  • Australian citizens or permanent residents;
  • current and financial Fellows, Members, Graduate Members, or Student Members of the AIG.

Student membership of the AIG (for Undergraduate and Honours students) is free; Graduate membership in 2015-16 is $92.00 + GST (there is also a $30 + GST one-off application fee for new applications). To apply for membership, you may register online.

The AIG Bursary awards are generally announced and awarded in early- to mid-October each year. Applicants seeking funding for specific activities should ensure that the timing of these activities is appropriate to this schedule.

In addition to AIG bursaries offered in all geoscience fields, the AIG also offers a number of sponsored bursaries to students working in specific fields of geoscience or geological terrains, or enrolled at specific universities;  some of your students may be eligible for these bursaries.  These sponsored bursaries include:

*   The Macquarie Arc Conference-GSNSW – AIG bursary: offered to geoscience students working on mapping-based honours projects in the
     Lachlan Orogen, in or around the Macquarie Arc.

*   The SMEDG-AIG Bursaries: offered to NSW geoscience students working on projects related to mineral exploration.

*   The Jonathan Bell-Alexander Research – AIG bursary: offered to geoscience students working on cross-disciplinary projects related to
    mineral economics and finance.

*   The Davis – AIG geoscience bursaries: offered to geoscience students enrolled at JCU or UWA to assist with costs associated with field work.

*   The Bonwick – AIG Geoscience Student Bursary: offered to geoscience students.

The 2016 application form and guidelines is available here.  The closing date for applications is 2 August, 2016.