The Australian Academy of Science Decadal Plan for Earth Sciences

Australian Institute of Geoscientists > Education > The Australian Academy of Science Decadal Plan for Earth Sciences


The Australian Academy of Science (AAS) develops decadal (10 year) plans for all the sciences in Australia. The Academy’s National Committee of Earth Sciences (NCES) is a committee of the AAS that is responsible for developing the Decadal Plan for the Earth Sciences.

Professor Sue O’Reilly is the Chair, National Committee for Earth Sciences.

The Australian Geoscience Council (AGC) is an active participant in this process on behalf of its eight Member Organisations (GSA, AIG, AusIMM, ASEG, PESA, AAG, IAH and AGIA).

A survey questionnaire for Australian geoscientists to provide input into the Decadal Plan for Earth Sciences is accessible here.

The decadal plan developed by NCES should help shape the priorities, direction, and emphasis of Earth Sciences in Australia including the education, training, and research that supports it. Community input and feedback is an important part of this process.

The survey is divided into five sections:

  • Roles of Earth Sciences
  • Training, education and employment
  • Research
  • Strategies for the next decade
  • Personal information

This survey should take around 15 minutes to complete, and we recommend completing on Desktop/Laptop devices.  The responses will be collated and form an integral part of the formulation of the draft decadal plan. Data from this survey will not be individually identified but will be aggregated to inform the Committee about community views and concerns.  Please note there will be an opportunity for formal submissions after the release of the draft document.